Forgive Me Father, For I Have Sinned

28 04 2010

Although I am not a religious man, I felt it necessary to confess the acts of which I just committed.

I entered the alley on an overcast and rainy afternoon in San Francisco – only acutely aware of the consequences my actions would later bring. I made eye contact with the man, and slipped him the money. He passed me a small paper box and hurried back inside. I turned and set my course for a bench by the ballpark – all the while avoiding the glances of inquisitive strangers.

And there I was, alone and unobstructed, free to commit my crime in broad daylight. The sensation was incredible — and at least for those 15 minutes, I told myself I could do this forever. But alas, after the last trace of the contraband was gone, I felt the heavy feeling that accompanies such a selfish indulgence.

And there I was, on a bench, hands covered in maple syrup. Pieces of fried chicken raining down onto the unrecognizable remnants of a waffle. It was at this point that I realized my crime. In my haste to experience this American Classic, I completely assaulted and dominated the chicken and waffles, showing no sign of remorse (Much like the Lakers over OKC last night).

The Victim

So as my penance, I thought it only fair to recount a brief history of this great American Classic.

Although the origin of the American ‘Chicken and Waffles’ is hotly disputed, experts generally adhere to the following history:

In the 1790s, Thomas Jefferson brought a waffle iron back from France and began introducing it to his flapjack loving buddies. Shortly thereafter, African Americans in the South began developing a taste for the waffles as their primary cuisine came from the leftovers of their landowners and plantation families. Increasingly, poultry became a staple of their diets and thus they became a fit out of necessity.

More recently, Chicken and Waffles has risen in popularity due to chains like Roscoe’s and Wells Supper Club. Chef Herb Hudson opened Roscoe’s in the 1970s and tapped his connections in Motown and in television. Celebrities like Redd Foxx would even tell his television audience they needed to eat at Roscoe’s.

That being said, I hope that everyone doesn’t wait 27 years until indulging in such a great combination of sweet and savory.

Check out Little Skillet in San Francisco to get your fix. It also made the 7×7 Big Eat SF 2010 (100 Things to Eat/Drink Before You Die)

I need a shower and a nap

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

